You are here: Home  About COFORD
You are here: Home  About COFORD

COFORD Council

The COFORD Council is a body appointed by the Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine to advise the Minister and his Department on issues related to the development of the forest sector in Ireland. Its membership is appointed by the Minister and comprises stakeholders from across the forestry sector.

COFORD Council 2019-2022

         Dr Eugene Hendrick, Chairman

  • Fergus Moore, Forest Sector Development (DAFM)
  • Seamus Dunne, Forest Service (DAFM)
  • Tony Quinn, Research, Food & CODEX Co-ordination (DAFM)
  • Patrick Murray, Murrays Timber Group Ltd
  • Asst Prof Áine Ní Dhubháin University College Dublin
  • Neil Kerrigan, Enterprise Ireland
  • Daragh Little, Forest Industries Ireland
  • John Kavanagh, None-so-Hardy Nurseries Ltd
  • Mark Carlin, Coillte
  • Dr Nuala Ní Fhlatharta, Teagasc
  • John Joe O Boyle, Northern Ireland Forest Service
  • Dr Declan Little, Woodlands of Ireland
  • Donal Whelan, Irish Timber Growers Association
  • Stephen Treacy, Environmental Protection Agency
  • Jenni Roche, Department of Housing
  • Andrew St. Ledger, Environmental Pillar
  • Jason Fleming, IFA


 COFORD Council Working Groups 2019-2023

  • Forest Genetic Resources
  • Roundwood  Forecasting and Wood Mobilisation
  • Forests, Climate Change Mitigation and Adaption
  • Forest Policy, monitoring of implementation
  • Promotion of Forestry and Afforestation
  • Socioeconomic contribution of the Irish forest sector  
  • Ecosystem Services, non-timber benefits of broad leaved woodlands


The Council 2011-2014 convened groups in the following areas:

Land Availability

Forest Management Planning (pdf 544Kb)        

Wood Mobilisation (pdf 3,282Kb)        

Forest Research (pdf 3,439Kb)        

For the relevant group report please click on the titles above.